Barcelona: Returning to La Sagrada Familia

I visited Barcelona for the first time in the summer of 2006. After studying Spanish for 8 years, I had taken several Spanish culture classes, some focusing on Barcelona art and architecture, and it was amazing to finally see some of it in person.

La Sagrada Familia

My favorite site in Barcelona was, and still is, La Sangrada Familia. It is a basilica that was designed by Antoni Gaudí in the 19th century. Construction began in 1882, and it still continues today.

When Chris and I visited La Sagrada Familia in 2006, I told him I wanted to return when it was completed. I was shocked to find out how long I would have to wait. At that time, they were predicting that it would be done in the 2040s.

La Sagrada Familia interior in 2006 under construction

Prepared to return in my 60s, I was excited when an opportunity arose this year for me to check in on the progress.

Quite a bit of work has been done in the last 6 years, and services are now being held in the main nave. I also found out that by using modern tools, there is an anticipation that La Sagrada Familia will be completed in 2026 to coincide with the centennial of Gaudí’s death.

Sagrada Familia nave roof detail from Tot conflueix/All’s conected [sic]

Since we were there at the height of tourist season, there was always a 2-hour wait to get inside La Sagrada Familia, and we couldn’t get the electronic advanced tickets to work. We had to give up and go to the beach instead.

Oh, well. This just gives me another reason to go to Barcelona regularly to view its progress and eventual completion.

I went to Spain in August 2012, visited BilbaoSan Sebastián, Figueres, and Girona for the first time, and returned to Barcelona

One response to “Barcelona: Returning to La Sagrada Familia

  1. Pingback: BARCELONA TIPS? | SanneWierda·

Leave a comment