Victories

Recently, one of my favorite expat bloggers, Kristin from Expatially Mexico, wrote about the difficulties we overcome as expats. She said that it’s enough to feel like a superhero.

I definitely agree with her assessment. The most minor victories can have me smiling all day, amazed that I actually accomplished something in Germany.

One recent example is that I had to cancel a physical therapy appointment because I was sick. In the U.S., this would be a 2-minute task. In German, though, I had to spend some time prepping for my phone call. Luckily, we have been studying health words in my German class, so I knew many of the words that I needed.

I was ready to leave a voicemail which seems common for this office when one of my therapist’s colleagues answered the phone.  Even though I had to speak German with her, my conversation was a success. I was able to convey who I was, that I was sick, and that I wouldn’t be coming in for my appointment the next day. I was so happy with my German abilities that if I had been feeling better, I might have made a victory march around my apartment yelling “Hooray!”

These language and culture achievements make me so happy to live here.

I am also bashful about another feat that I have been delaying writing about. I’ve been nominated several times for the Versatile Blogger Award by some of my kind readers. I am flattered by these nominations and by others who have reached out to me.

Thank you to Cultural Quirks, Housewife Down Under, and Expatially Mexico for nominating me and for your interest in my adventures and their outcomes.

Part of accepting this award is sharing 7 things you don’t know about me. I’ve decided that tomorrow, I will tell you 7 embarrassing things I’ve done while traveling.

3 responses to “Victories

  1. Oh, thank you so much for mentioning my post, I very much appreciate it!
    And well done on your phone conversation. I agree, talking on the phone is the hardest, it can be pretty stressful in the beginning. It would have definitely been worth a march around the apartment!
    Looking forward to your next post!

  2. I’M REALLY looking forward to your next post, because I can’t believe you did SEVEN embarassing things while traveling! I only know about one that happened in Ann Arbor, Michigan!

  3. Pingback: Embarrassing moments in travel | The Traveling Times·

Leave a Reply

