Birthday travels

When I got married nearly 7 years ago, I was inspired by friends who traveled annually for their wedding anniversaries. I was determined to do the same thing. However, my husband’s work scheduled him to travel solo for our anniversary nearly every year in July. Thus, my anniversary trip idea wasn’t very viable.

Instead, I decided we should always travel on or around my birthday, and we have done so for 7 years in a row. Today is my birthday, and while this season is abnormally warm, usually, my birthday is a great excuse to escape the cold (or distract ourselves in other cold cities).

I recommend this tradition to everyone in order to give yourself a reason to travel annually and do something new with someone you love.

There’s nothing like drinking from a coconut in the Dominican Republic on your birthday.

The funniest part about traveling around your birthday is tricking your husband into thinking he forgot your birthday. Since you’re usually not looking at a calendar while on vacation, he’s probably not aware of the date. I can’t tell you how many times on the day before my birthday I’ve waited until breakfast to say to Chris, “Aren’t you even going to say ‘happy birthday’ to me?” My husband starts apologizing, thinking he forgot my birthday, and I start laughing because it’s not really my birthday.

Luckily, I have a forgiving husband with a good sense of humor. (Seriously, I’ve played this trick on him several times.) Today, he woke up early and snuck out to the bakery before I woke up to bring me my favorite strudel.

Morning breakfast birthday strudel courtesy of my husband.

Sometimes, you can’t plan for your trip to fall right on your birthday (as is the case this year), but it will be worth the wait when we go soon. Instead, I’m spending the day in Europe (which is like any other day for me), but it still sounds pretty special.

5 responses to “Birthday travels

  1. Happy Birthday! My birthday is today too and was presented with a massive traffic jam on the way to work. My mood brightened considerable when I got into the office and saw you had another update.

    My wife’s birthday is on the 22nd so we try to do something special on the day in between, calling it our birthday sandwich day (or at least I do). We don’t travel but recently have taken up the call to be more adventurous (hence our first international trip this fall).

    That strudel looks great. Are you a coffee drinker? I’m wondering how the coffee is in Germany…

  2. Tara–I just LOVE READING YOUR BLOG!! It brightens my day & makes me feel you two are not so far away~! I have to read it when no one is home, however, because I alternately cry and laugh out loud hysterically! Your guesses at the Fat Tuesday parade of what the floats & groups of people represented were SO funny! I swear you need to become a professional travel writer!

  3. Pingback: Sometimes the travel writer travels | The Traveling Times·

Leave a Reply

