Good bye chicken stock, hello bouillon

I make a lot of homemade soup.

That’s an understatement. I probably make too much soup. I always had several (some may say “an abundance of”) boxes of stock on my shelf ready to go. With making soup, I love how you can build flavor, mix different ingredients that you happen to have on hand, make something so warming, and freeze it for a quick meal another day. Unfortunately, the latter will not exist in my life now since my small, German freezer will not freeze more than 3 ice cream bars. (This conclusion has been tested thoroughly.) Regardless, I can still make smaller batches of soup, but I won’t be able to make long-lasting frozen stocks.

When I moved into my permanent apartment, I went to the grocery store to stock up on, well, stock. Grocery shopping here takes me much longer than in the U.S., because I can’t read what I’m buying. I went up and down the aisles, and I couldn’t find any stock. There were hundreds of dried soups, so I knew what section to be in. But, I just couldn’t seem to find cans or boxes of stock.

I went to several grocery stores for this mission and sadly, I have come to the conclusion that pre-made stock does not exist. I had to buy a jar of bouillon.

I thought it wouldn’t be as satisfying. Though, I have to say, I don’t mind it so much. I don’t have to open a huge can of stock when a recipe only calls for a little. I can make exactly how much I need (though, I usually need a lot). I think if I had a freezer that froze, I probably would make my own homemade stock whenever I could.

But, in the meantime, I will continue to purchase bouillon to keep up with my soup addiction by looking for the right animal picture on the jar.

Pretty easy: pick the chicken or the cow

One response to “Good bye chicken stock, hello bouillon

  1. Pingback: Packing to move abroad and the surprises you find on the other side | The Traveling Times·

Leave a Reply

